I’m a TTOC!!!!!

“What’s a TTOC?” Someone shouts from a collective group of non-teachers who have no idea what all the ever-changing abbreviations in the teaching profession stand for – honestly, I don’t know half of them myself, but I did have to learn this one.

A TTOC stands for –

“I think it stands for Totally Terrific Olympic Committee,” someone replies.

A murmur goes through the crowd, some people not there heads in agreement while others still look confused.

“No, I thought it stood for Terrible Twos of Canada,” said a voice in the back.

“Huh, where’d you hear that?”

“I read it on Google.”

Everyone nods their head sagely – because it’s true, Google does have the answer to everything. Unfortunately, in this case it was the wrong answer, but still…

“TTOC stands for Teacher Teaching on Call,” I say.

“But it’s that phrase redundant,” This voice sounded vaguely like my brother – I wonder how he got into the gathered crowd.

“Well – ” I start, only to be cut off by the voice that I am now sure is my brother.

“I mean doesn’t a teacher by definition teach, so it’s unnecessary to say that a teacher teaches on call?”

The crowd looks to me for confirmation, but thankfully someone asks another question before I have to justify my brother’s words – though I have no idea how.

“Where are you TTOC-ing?”

“At an independent school in Surrey,” I answer, hoping that is enough detail but knowing it’s not.

“Yes, but where?” Someone asks.

“Are you going to TTOC my son’s class?”

“I’m not sure I can say which school,” I begin, unsure if I was breaking some sort of confidentiality clause. “And I don’t know if I’ll be teaching you son.”

The crowd looks rather displeased with my anti-climactic answer and disperses.

Hopefully, by the time I have TTOC-ed for a bit longer, I will have better stories to share.

K. Heer 

Share a Thought...

